Connect with us

ARSENAL

BREAKING NEWS:FIFA president finally intervene in Arsenal vs Nottingham Forest Penalty call saga as PGMOL releases OFFICIAL statement this morning, Referee in action suspended till further as FIFA president delivers honest judgement Today

Published

on

Arsenal get new penalty verdict on two incidents vs Nottingham Forest as Chris Wood point made

 

 

 

Latest Arsenal news with new verdicts provided on two controversial penalty decisions from the draw away at Nottingham Forest

 

 

 

Chris Wood was at the centre of a controversial penalty decision in Arsenal’s draw with Nottingham Forest

 

 

 

Arsenal have been handed a clear verdict on two huge penalty shouts from their goalless draw against Nottingham Forest. As a result of that stalemate, the Gunners dropped more points in the Premier League title race at the City Ground which saw Liverpool extend the gap at the top to 13.

 

 

 

In terms of chances, Riccardo Calafiori and Mikel Merino went close for the visitors while Chris Wood was denied by David Raya. However, things could have been very different had Forest been awarded a penalty in the opening 25 minutes after Calum Hudson-Odoi was bundled over in the box by Calafiori.

 

There’s a bit of contact but is it enough to put him off? I’m not sure. Calafiori goes to pull out of the challenge, the forward also isn’t convinced it’s a foul, he’s trying to get the ball. He topples over but he’s off balance anyhow. For me, the referee has got that right, and play on.”

 

Latest Arsenal injury news for Nottingham Forest with fresh Nwaneri, Saka and Martinelli updates

 

 

 

Arsenal also saw shouts for a penalty turned away in the second half after Jurrien Timber’s cross appeared to strike the arm of Chris Wood as he went in for a sliding block. However, referee Andy Madley waved away those appeals with VAR and Gallagher clearly in agreement the right decision was made.

 

 

 

“This is where the forward wins with the law because if he scores from that, it’s disallowed,” he said. “But the law is quite clear here, if he’s on the floor, it’s a supporting arm and it can’t be given as handball. He’s doing everything possible to get out of the way. Nobody wants a penalty for that because it just doesn’t sit right with people.”

 

 

 

 

Trending